User Tools

Site Tools


Fourfold Assembly

The Fourfold Assembly originally refered to those who gathered to hear the Buddha teach the Dharma: Bhikshus, Bhikshunis, Upasakas, and Upasikas, in other words, monks and nuns and laymen and laywomen. It now also refers in general to those four categories of Buddhists.

1) Chinese: sz jung , sz jung di dz , 2) Sanskrit: catur-parsad/parisad, 3) Pali catu-parisa.

See Also: Sangha, Bhikshu, Bhikshuni, Upasaka, Upasika.

Fourfold Sangha, Four-fold Assembly, Four-fold Sangha

Fair Use

fourfold_assembly.txt · Last modified: 2018/02/26 18:11 (external edit)