This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

ordination [2018/02/26 18:12] (current)
Line 1: Line 1:
 +[[ordination]] as a [[Buddhist]] [[Bhikshu]] ([[monk]]) or [[Bhikshuni]] ([[nun]]) can be seen both
 +as the [[culmination]] of a period of in[[ten]]se preparatory [[cultivation]] and as the
 +beginning of a new and fuller [[life]] in the [[Dharma]].
 +The preparatory period begins with taking [[Refuge with the Triple Jewel]] (see
 +entry), that is, [[form]]ally [[becoming]] a [[Buddhist]] and [[bowing]] to a [[Teacher]]. It is
 +followed by [[stage]]s of [[learn]]ing to live in accord with progressively [[high]]er
 +standards of [[purity]] and [[moral]]ity]] as represented by adherence to [[moral]]
 +[[precept]]s (see entry). The taking of the [[Five Precepts]] (see entry) is
 +followed by the [[eight]] [[precept]]s and then often the [[Bodhisattva]] [[precept]]s (see
 +[[BNS]]). The taking of the [[Novice]] ([[Shramanera]]) [[precept]]s (see [[SV]]) ushers in a
 +period of a minimum of [[Three]] [[year]]s [[form]]al [[training]] for [[becoming]] a
 +fully-[[ordain]]ed [[Bhikshu]] or [[Bhikshuni]].
 +[[ordination]] it[[self]] takes place in a [[Ceremony]] open only to the [[Sangha]] that is
 +presided over by [[ten]] elder [[Bhikshu]]s of [[high]] [[virtue]]. During the [[Ceremony]] the
 +250 [[Bhikshu Precepts]] (or 348 [[Bhikshuni]] [[precept]]s) are [[transmit]]ted.
 +1) [[Chinese]]:​ shou jyu dzu jye , 2) [[Sanskrit]]:​ .
 +[[See Also]]: [[Three Jewels]], [[Sangha]], [[Bhikshu]],​ [[Bhikshuni]],​ [[Moral Precepts]].
 +[[BTTS References]]:​ [[FAS]] Ch16 36-37.
 +[[Fair Use]]
ordination.txt ยท Last modified: 2018/02/26 18:12 (external edit)