User Tools

Site Tools


The three doshas, or bodily humours, are Vata, Pitta, Kapha.

Vata - consisting of the elements Ether (space) and Air.

Pitta - consisting of the elements Fire and Water.

Kapha - consisting of the elements Water and Earth.

“According to Ayurvedic philosophy, the entire cosmos is an interplay of the energies of the five basic elements - Ether, Air, Fire, Water, and Earth. Vata, Pitta and Kapha are combinations of the five elements that manifest as patterns in all creation.” Lad, p. 29

Vasant Lad, M.A.Sc., //Textbook of Ayurveda Volume 1//, 2002: p. 29

three_doshas.txt · Last modified: 2018/02/26 18:13 (external edit)